Fashion - Lifestyle - Emerging Talent - The Occasional Steal

Committed to providing authentic product recommendations & features

Vintage Hermès Auction

Artcurial, the prestigious Parisian auction house, is hosting its famous vintage Hermès auction. The auction will be led by Stéphane Aubert, on Tuesday, April 29th.

The auction features a collection of over 735 items from the prestigious French house. This includes old and unusual items, travel bags and leather goods, jewelry in gold and silver, scarf squares, tableware, desk accessories and a large selection of bags. Of course, the famous "Birkin" and "Kelly" bags are part of the list.

Here's a peek at some of the treasures to be auctioned...







 
 
 

 




 






Adding Instant Glam with Gilded Accents

Gilded accents instantly up the glam factor with a nod to Old Hollywood. I love how these accents also add a worldly touch. The added bonus is that such pieces are actually quite functional. See the examples below.

I nested a Moroccan mirror with a gilded, etched mirror. I also love the gilded trim on the neck of the diamond-cut decanters, the jewelry box and the vintage cherub-topped perfume bottle.


I like to add a little glam to my daily routine. The rosette-topped clock, and the vintage beveled glass and brass powder jar, that I use with a feather powder puff that sits on its own pedestal stand, are nice indulgences.


I also am addicted to the dainty, yet sophisticated look of vintage jewelry boxes ... hence the collection below.


In summary, I love interiors. I would spend hours of my childhood summers with my dad's interior design books. Decor celebrates living artfully and stylishly; it's the essence of glamour. My love of decor is just as strong as, if not more than, my love of fashion.

I was very pleasantly surprised when I received the below interiors book in lieu of the typical Parisian souvenir. I've shared some of my favorite pictures...













Designer Rework Project: Mixed Materials

Bracelets Redone

I am an avid fan of cuff bracelets. While I love the look of resin bracelets, I rarely wore the two that I owned.

Resin tends to crack easily and the bracelets react to body heat ... A cuff that

  1. Feels like it might crack when you put it on, and
  2. Has a tendency to expand as you wear it, definitely is not a good thing.


However, I still loved the artistic blend of the colors in my bracelets. Every time that I looked at them, I felt the urge to do a rework like the need to scratch a new mosquito bite. I had a leather and a feather/metal cuff that could use some extra oomph, so I decided to dive in and pull out my old jewelry saw. Below are the results.




Mixed Skirts

Although I really liked my color-blocked P.A.R.O.S.H skirt, I wasn't the biggest fan of the position of the coloring ... It drew the eye to the hip and thigh area.

I decided to control this effect by combining the skirt with another skirt to add vertical lines to the color-blocking. The Neuvas Tendencias de Caramelo skirt that I selected had a fishtail back as well as lace designed to hang lower and peek through the back slit. This increased the vertical lines even more. Below is the final result.




Alexander Wang to Partner with H&M


H&M announced yesterday during an event at the Coachella Music Festival, in Palm Springs, California, that their next designer collaboration will be with Alexander Wang. This partnership marks the first time that an American designer teams up with H&M on the much anticipated designer collaboration.

The New York-based fashion designer's eponymous brand has firmly established itself by perpetually evolving and re-contextualizing the urban uniform, since it was launched on the runway in 2007. Alexander Wang’s core sensibility is a reflection on contrasts, blending seamlessly between the refined and the imperfect. His collections have an unprecious outlook on fashion, and always reflect a sense of ease.

The Alexander Wang x H&M collection will feature apparel and accessories for women and men. Typical for his irreverent approach, Alexander Wang will propose a new take on the lifestyle product offering that goes beyond fashion. The full collection will be available in 250 H&M stores worldwide, and online starting November 6, 2014.


Alexander Wang says... 
“I am honored to be a part of H&M’s designer collaborations. The work with their team is an exciting, fun process. They are very open to push boundaries and to set a platform for creativity. This will be a great way for a wider audience to experience elements of the Alexander Wang brand and lifestyle.”

"Alexander Wang is one of the most important voices in fashion today. He understands exactly what people want to wear and does it with an energy and passion that’s infectious. It feels incredible to be collaborating with him this year,” says Margareta van den Bosch, H&M’s creative advisor.


Do you have news or an event that you would like to promote via Fashion & the Steal? Complete the contact form or email me at contact@fashionnts.com

Coverage of the Royal Family's World Tour

The young royal family kicked off the week with their premiere world tour as a family. Here is tour footage of Prince William, Kate Middleton and baby Prince George...









Do you have news or an event that you would like to promote via Fashion & the Steal? Complete the contact form or email me at contact@fashionnts.com

Fashion News & Events: The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier Exhibit

First, there was the book; The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk. Next comes the exhibition, which will open to the public at the Barbican Art Gallery, in London, on April 9th.

Jean Paul Gautlier 

See the designer arrive at the VIP private viewing with a Queen Elizabeth II look-alike, Erin O'Connor and more below...


The book's cover and dedication pages...



Do you have news or an event that you would like to promote via Fashion & the Steal? Complete the contact form or email me at contact@fashionnts.com

Fashion Week Live Stream: MBFW Australia SS14/15

It's almost time for Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Australia.

Watch the stream of the on-site fashion shows live from Sydney. The roster of Australia's most sought-after fashion designers includes Alex Perry, Talulah, Alice McCall, and Serpent & The Swan.

Below is the live stream and runway schedule.

Watch MBFW Australia Live Here:



The MBFW Australia Live Stream Schedule: 

Update: I've listed in AEST, GMT  & EST times (to lessen my time confusion :-D)
SUNDAY 06/04/2014
Mercedes-Benz Presents CARLA ZAMPATTI    
5 pm AEST/8 am GMT/3 am EST
MONDAY 07/04/2014
AURELIO COSTARELLA 10am AEST/1am GMT/8pm EST
ALEX PERRY 11am AEST/2am GMT/9pm EST
KAHLO 12pm AEST/3am GMT/10pm EST
STRATEAS.CARLUCCI 2:15 pm AEST/5:15 am GMT/12:15 am EST
BY JOHNNY 3pm AEST/6am GMT/1am EST
DESERT DESIGNS 4pm AEST/7am GMT/2am EST
GAIL SORRONDA 6pm AEST/9am GMT/4am EST
PHOENIX KEATING 7pm AEST/10am GMT/5am EST
NLP 8pm AEST/11am GMT/6am EST
TUESDAY  08/04/2014
WGSN RETAIL EDIT 8am AEST/11pm GMT (Mon.)/6pm EST
MICHAEL LO SORDO 10am AEST/1am GMT/8pm EST
TALULAH 11am AEST/2am GMT/9pm EST
LEROY NGYUEN 12pm AEST/3am GMT/10pm EST
CAMEO 2:15 pm AEST/5:15 am GMT/12:15 am EST
MATICEVSKI 3pm AEST/6am GMT/1am EST
SERPENT & THE SWAN 4pm AEST/7am GMT/2am EST
CHRISTOPHER ESBER 6 pm AEST/9 am GMT/4 am EST
GALANNI 7pm AEST/10am GMT/5am EST
SWIM 8pm AEST/11am GMT/6am EST
WEDNESDAY 09/04/2014
RAGTRADER LIVE 8am AEST/11pm GMT (Tues.)/6pm EST
SUBOO 11am AEST/2am GMT/9pm EST
RAFFLES INTERNATIONAL SHOWCASE 2:15 pm AEST/5:15 am GMT/12:15 am EST
JAYSON BRUNSDON 3pm AEST/6am GMT/1am EST
DUVENAGE 4pm AEST/7am GMT/2am EST
BETTY TRAN 7pm AEST/10am GMT/5am EST
SWAROVSKI 8pm AEST/11am GMT/6am EST
THURSDAY 10/04/2014
AUSTRALIAN FASHION CHAMBER 8am AEST/11pm GMT (Wed.)/6pm EST
ALICE MCCALL 9am AEST/12am GMT/7pm EST
NEW GENERATION 10am AEST/1am GMT/8pm EST
HAYLEY ELSAESSER 11am AEST/2:00am GMT/9pm EST
MACGRAW 12pm AEST/3am GMT/10pm EST
THE INNOVATORS 2:15 pm AEST/5:15 am GMT/12:15 am EST
AE'LKEMI 3pm AEST/6 am GMT/1am EST
IXIAH 4pm AEST/7am GMT/2am EST
AJE 6pm AEST/9am GMT/4am EST
SONG FOR THE MUTE 8pm AEST/11am GMT/6am EST


The Vogue Festival 2014: Highlights & Panel Sessions

Below are the official highlights videos from this weekend's glamorous Vogue Festival in London. I will post select panel session videos as they become available, so check back soon.

Update: I just added the Valentino's & Phoebe Philo's panel sessions below.


Highlights from Saturday's Sessions




Highlights from Sunday's Sessions




Valentino: King of Glamour




The Philo Factor: Reinventing Cool




What's it Really Like to be a Model





Do you have news or an event that you would like to promote via Fashion & the Steal? Complete the contact form or email me at contact@fashionnts.com

Fashion DIY: Adding Those Little Touches

I love buying well-made clothing and accessories. I totally admit that I am also quite fearless when it comes to tailoring my purchases to my likes. I have no hesitation if I can add a detail that will increase how often I reach for an item (aka upping the reach factor).

I originally started tweaking out of necessity. I am a relatively short, curvy girl. I like to call myself a spready ... I have full hips, thighs and "girls" that grab attention without any assistance from push-up bras, deep V's or implants. The constant, habitual alterations to accommodate my sizing gave me the confidence to start experimenting with adding my own creative details.  I like to think that my tweaks add a stamp of my personality to my pieces.

Although, I have done some reworking projects that were on the gutsy, "rework the design side", not all of my projects are major feats. Some have been as simple as removing a zipper from a jacket and sewing in a snap to make it hang in an asymmetrical style or changing out the buttons. Here are examples of my other small tweaking efforts.

My most recent project was relatively small ... Simply adding knots to the top of each fringe on the necklaces below. This was a functional change ... to keep the fringes from sliding out. Yes, it was very time consuming, but I do love wearing these necklaces and the knots add an extra touch of global exotic to the look.



The leather Delman over-the-knee boots below (original on the left) are buttery-soft. However,  they were a little too wide and kept sliding down. I fixed it by sewing an elastic strip inside that sits just below the knee. I then covered the new gathers formed from the elastic addition by sewing a matching leather strip, with grommets, on the outside. 

I tied and sewed a knot at the back and left some length to dangle. My enhancement matches perfectly and looks like it was part of the original design. What else am I itching to add? Heel and toe guards.
  



This Jean-Charles de Castelbajac wool jacket was funky ... Funky is basically the trademark of the designer. I wanted to add a little, subtle surprise to break up the explosion of red military styling. I decided to add black flannel inserts in the upper inside seams of the arms.

 


I loved the drape of this BCBGMAXAZRIA top but the color reminded me of the safety orange worn by workers at construction sites. I dyed it a deep, muted turquoise, adding small front knots for a controlled tie-dye effect. I can't wait to pair it with a flowing, knotted scarf or a dangle necklace like the fringe styles shown above.


I envisioned pairing this DVF skirt with tall boots, but there was one problem ... This was actually a skort (a split skirt). I removed the split and converted it into the skirt that I envisioned.




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...